Katrina Jan tells us about her experience of our MA in Victorian Studies.

 

The Victorian Studies group on a field trip to Worcester, 2017

I’ve absolutely loved the MA Victorian Studies course and it really is a course unlike no other! With classes held at the Birmingham & Midland Institute, you really feel like you’ve gone back in time to the 19th century. I really enjoyed the Gothic module and found it incredibly interesting, and having classes in the evening on a winter’s day, definitely added to the supernatural atmosphere! The course also offers access to many other facilities, such as the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery and my personal favourite, Woodbrooke Study Centre.

 

PG Writing Retreat at Woodbrooke Study Centre, 2017

As the MA Victorian Studies is an interdisciplinary combination of English, History and Theology, there is a wide range of staff who teach on the course. They are all very passionate about their subjects and their expertise is invaluable. Over the past two years, I feel I have strengthened my understanding and massively developed my research interests which have been supported and stimulated by the staff on the course. The interactive seminars have been inspiring and the organised field trips have furthered my knowledge, as well, allowing me to meet and mingle with other Victorianists!

 

I definitely feel the MA has encouraged me to continue onto further study and I do plan on enrolling onto a PhD straight after.

 

KJ

@Jan_Katrina

