Tom Salliss graduated in 2016 after studying single honours History. He is now studying for his Graduate Diploma in Law.

My experiences studying History at Newman have enabled me to dive straight into my chosen career path. I developed numerous transferrable skills such as research, independent learning and strong written and oral communication skills as well as academic skills such as critical analysis and evaluation. 

I benefitted greatly from the work placement module. The module allowed me to have something concrete to discuss at job interviews as well as enabling me to begin building a network of contacts in my chosen field. However, my experience at Newman was much more than the academic and transferrable skills gained. It allowed me to develop my understanding of key values such as social justice, cohesion and community which have greatly benefitted me in developing my career. 

The network of support students receive at Newman really does allow you to grow as a person as well as a student and be ready to begin building your career as soon as you finish your studies. In my opinion, the skills and experiences gained from a History degree at Newman really does give you so many potential career options.
Tom Salliss

@TomSalliss1

